Dragon Wine and Old English Lit Thesis Suggestions

I’ve got this bottle of Chaucer’s Mead aging in the wine rack. There will come a day…probably the day Choices Meant for All is released, when I’ll pop that baby open and sip away. Overall, I enjoy a glass of wine on occasion to savor the sweetness. Reislings are my friends. Ice wine is a newfound joy. The experts aren’t kidding when they tell you it’s made with sweet grapes. Sweet frozen grapes, that is.

Like a good dragon, I drink my wine at home so I don’t have to drive afterward. I used to be so much more tolerant of alcohol in my system, but the “stuff” I’m dealing with health-wise actually lowers one’s tolerance. Go figure! It’s a symptom.

My random wine-drinking reminds me of the beer commercial with the World’s Most Interesting Man. The announcer goes to all this trouble to convince you this guy is “all that,” and then shows the dude in a shadowy bar (and aren’t they all?) with a beer bottle. Yeah, THAT’S interesting. Boring! So they had to give the guy lines. “I doDragon Winen’t always drink beer, but when I do, I drink [this stuff right here].” I’m purposefully leaving the name out because, really, do I want to advertise beer on my blog? No. No, I do not.

Dragons don’t drink beer.

In fact, I bet dragons get tummy-aches after eating warriors who’ve been drinking copious amounts of beer. It may be why you see so many tragic scenes of drunken, dead warriors who haven’t been eaten by dragons…merely slashed and killed.

There’s a thesis for an Old English Literature student right there. What beverages make a warrior more palatable to dragons?

Whatever your views on dragons eating warriors, I share a toast with you. May the wine of which you partake this evening be sweet enough to entice dragons to join you in your repast, and not to encourage them to munch on you…

“Some days, you just want the dragon to win.”

Published in: on January 15, 2011 at 6:35 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://todaythedragonwins.wordpress.com/2011/01/15/dragon-wine-and-old-english-lit-thesis-suggestions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

